Andrius Dereviancenko – tenor saxophone, clarinet
Szymon Gasiorek – drums, percussion
Asger Thomsen – double bass, objects

Trash Jazz


Jonas Engel: alto saxophone / Niklas Fite: acoustic guitar / Asger Thomsen: double bass / Simon Forchhammer: drums

Powerhouse quartet with players from Denmark, Germany and Sweden playing free jazzy compositions by Thomsen.

Click here for more info

The Moms
Albert Cirera: saxophone / Taus Bregnhøj-Olesen: guitar / Asger Thomsen: double bass

Noise/free improvisation

Click here for more info

Jonas Engel/Asger Thomsen
Jonas Engel: alto saxophone, clarinet, modified p-trumpet
Asger Thomsen: double bass

More info

Asger Thomsen: double bass
The solo project of Asger Thomsen is an exploration of radical approaches to the double bass as an acoustic sound source. Improvising freely with use of objects and various extended techniques the music is inspired by noise and concrete sound.

Click here for more Info

Elisabeth Coudoux: cello / Nana Pi: tenor sax / Asger Thomsen: double bass

Free improv

Henrik Pultz Melbye: reeds / Asger Thomsen: double bass / Kresten Osgood: drums

Micro-cosmic hyper detailed abstract improvisational music

Henrik Pultz Melbye: tenor saxophone / Jon Lipscomb: electric guitar / Asger Thomsen: electric bass / Rune Kielsgaard: drums

free jazz / improv quartet

Perfect Volume
Gianluca Elia: tenor saxophone, objects / Szymon Pimpon Gasiorek: drums, objects / Asger Thomsen: double bass, objects

Perfect Volume is an experimental trio focusing on acoustic noise and static sonic environments. It began as a duo of Elia and Thomsen who released their debut album in 2018


Our Hearts As Thieves
Eliot Cardinaux: piano, poetry / Jonas Engel: alto saxophone / Etienne Nillesen: prepared snare drum / Asger Thomsen: double bass, objects

This is a live album recorded the 12th of September 2017 in Cologne featuing poet/pianist Eliot Cardinaux (USA), alto saxophonist Jonas Engel (DE), drummer Etienne Nillesen (NL), and bass player Asger Thomsen (DK).

In September 2017 bass player Asger Thomsen invited Eliot Cardinaux to go on a tour in Europe to play with local musicisians in different cities. This album serves as documentation of a concert they did for a small crowd at Kunstwerk in Cologne featuring alto saxophonist Jonas Engel and drummer Etienne Nillesen who plays a particular extended snaredrum setup here. They didn’t make a lot of decisions before playing, but there was an immediate connection between the four, finding common ground in an ambient-acoustic approach, embracing extended techniques and prepared sounds on their instruments while giving space to Eliot’s voice which serves as a narrative anchor throughout the set. The music is abstract, dynamic, and expressive, filled with complex textures blending in and out of each other, sometimes making it hard to distinguish who’s playing what.

Tomo Jacobson: double bass / Aurelijus Uzameckis: double bass / Asger Thomsen: double bass

Double bass trio playing conceptual compositions of Asger Thomsen.


Eliot Cardinaux: piano, poetry / Jeppe Høi Justesen: drums / Asger Thomsen: double bass

Having met during a two-week festival stint in Boston organized by their pianist in conjunction with Danish drum legend Kresten Osgood, and later again at a festival put together by their bassist in Copenhagen, Asger Thomsen, Eliot Cardinaux, and Jeppe Høi Justesen are naturally inclined to support one another. Much of their music is loose, the ensemble’s warmth and conversational approach to free improvisation threading a dialogue through the many resilient personae of their poet’s palette.

This is anti-fascist free-punk. Played on acoustic instruments, with lots of screeching bows, clanging on the inner-strings; and no bells and whistles. Well, some actually. And Speechgrenades. Yep, you heard it. Explosive outbursts to outlie the times.

It’s Beefheart and Tom Waits meets Melt Banana sitting in the back row of a Keith Jarrett concert in Japan. And it’s going to do you some good.


Den Polyvalente Hjelm
Tomasz Dabrowski, trumpet /Henrik Pultz Melbye, saxophone / Jeppe Zeeberg, piano / Rune Lohse, drums / Asger Thomsen, double bass, compositions

Den Polyvalente Hjelm is my debut album as a composer and band leader. Released in 2016 as a limited edition vinyl (50 pcs).

Mia Dyberg Trio
Mia Dyberg, alto sax, clarinet, objects, composition / Asger Thomsen, double bass, composition / Steve Heather, drums

Free jazz inspired by William Burroughs’s cut-ups and poetry readings. Their album ‘Ticket!’ is released by Clean Feed, 2018.

Mika Persdotter: viola / Timothée Quost: trumpet, electronics / Asger Thomsen: double bass

Rigodon is a Copenhagen-based trio uniting strong improvisors from Denmark, Sweden, and France. With different backgrounds in fields such as free jazz, baroque, and electro-acoustic noise the three young players find common ground in an open-ended approach to free improvisation, focusing on complex timbres, micro details, and the blend of acoustic and electronic sounds. The music is characterised by dramatic gestures, fragmented elements, and juxtaposed layers interweaving, creating a music in a constant flux.